Beyond honored ...

Nominated  for the 2020 Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards 

Fiction :The Revisioners,
Margaret Wilkerson Sexton


The 2020 Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards continue the foundation’s tradition of recognizing literary excellence by Black writers from the United States and around the world. The evening will culminate in the announcement of the winners of the juried awards for books by Black authors published in 2019 in the categories of debut fiction, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. More than 100 books were submitted by publishers and self-published authors. The judges – all Legacy Award Honorees in previous years – worked independently of the foundation to evaluate the books for artistic excellence and contribution to the literary canon. Though our community cannot come together in person for the 2020 Legacy Awards, we have creatively reimagined our signature event. We invite you to join us virtually from the comfort of your homes and celebrate Black literary excellence!




Following her National Book Award–nominated debut novel, A Kind of Freedom, Margaret Wilkerson Sexton returns with this equally elegant and historically inspired story of survivors and healers, of black women and their black sons, set in the American South.




Join my mailing list